ABI President Announces Committee Co-Chairs for 2008-09

ABI President Announces Committee Co-Chairs for 2008-09

Contact: John Hartgen
             [email protected]


June 19, 2008, Alexandria, Va. — American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) President John W. Ames of Greenebaum, Doll & McDonald PLLC (Louisville, Ky.) announced that the following ABI members would serve as co-chairs of ABI member committees for 2008-09. ABI has 25 active committees that focus on specific projects and issues important to all areas of bankruptcy. Committee co-chairs play an important role in working with committee members on these projects, such as planning educational programs for ABI's popular conferences, authoring committee e-newsletters on relevant topics and sharing ideas on committee listserves. Many committees have produced valuable publications on a variety of topics such as consumer bankruptcy, preferences, creditors' committees and first-day motions.
The following ABI members will serve as co-chairs for the following committees in 2008-09:
Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee: Bankruptcy Judge Barbara J. Houser (N.D. Texas; Dallas) and Judy D. Thompson of Poyner & Spruill LLP (Charlotte, N.C.)
Asset Sales Committee: Weston Anson of CONSOR Intellectual Asset Management (La Jolla; Calif.) and Gary S. Jacobson of Herold and Haines, PA (Warren, N.J.)
Bankruptcy Litigation Committee: Mark M. Maloney of King & Spalding LLP (Atlanta) and Irving E. Walker of Cole, Schotz, Meisel, Forman & Leonard, PA (Baltimore)
Bankruptcy Taxation Committee: David Howard Stein of Wilentz, Goldman & Spitzer, PC (Woodbridge, N.J.) and John Tittle, Jr. of NachmanHaysBrownstein, Inc. (Dallas)
Business Reorganization Committee: Deborah A. Crabbe of Foster Pepper PLLC (Seattle), Leonard Klingbaum of Kirkland & Ellis LLP (New York) and Bradley D. Sharp of Development Specialists, Inc. (Los Angeles)
Commercial Fraud Task Force: Francis A. Monaco, Jr. of Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice PLLC (Wilmington, Del.) and Sheryl L. Toby of Dykema Gossett PLLC (Detroit)
Consumer Bankruptcy Committee: Dennis J. LeVine of Dennis LeVine & Associates, PA (Tampa), Bankruptcy Judge C. Ray Mullins (N.D. Ga.; Atlanta) and John Rao of the National Consumer Law Center (Boston)
Court Administration Committee: David D. Bird of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court, for the District of Delaware (Wilmington) and Kelly Beaudin Stapleton (Malvern, Pa.)
Employee Benefits in Bankruptcy Committee: Carol Connor Cohen of Arent Fox LLP (Washington, D.C.), Jeffrey B. Cohen of Ivins, Phillips & Barker (Washington, D.C.) and Charles M. Dyke of Thelen Reid Brown Raysman & Steiner LLP (San Francisco)
Ethics Committee: Terri L. Gardner of Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP (Raleigh, N.C.) and Judith Greenstone Miller of Jaffe, Raitt, Heuer & Weiss, PC (Southfield, Mich.)
Finance and Banking Committee: Jeff J. Marwil of Winston & Strawn LLP (Chicago) and Suzanne S. Yoon of CIT (Chicago)
Financial Advisors Committee: Stephen S. Gray of CRG Partners (Boston) and Gerald A. Shapiro of CRG Partners Group LLC (Wilton, Conn.)
Health Care Committee: Leslie Ann Berkoff of Moritt Hock Hamroff & Horowitz LLP (Garden City, N.Y.) and Suzanne Koenig of SAK Management Services, LLC (Chicago)
International Committee: Luis Salazar of Greenberg Traurig, LLP (Miami), Sandy Shandro of the University College (London) and Ronald J. Silverman of Bingham McCutchen LLP (New York)
Investment Banking Committee: Lorie R. Beers of KPMG Corporate Finance LLC (New York) and J. Scott Victor of National City Capital Markets (West Conshohocken, Pa.)
Law School Committee: Prof. Nancy B. Rapoport of the William S. Boyd School of Law at the University of Nevada-Las Vegas (Las Vegas) and Prof. G. Ray Warner of St. John's University and Of Counsel Greenberg Traurig, LLP (Jamaica, N.Y.)
Legislation Committee: Bankruptcy Judges Jeffery P. Hopkins (S.D. Ohio; Cincinnati) and David W. Houston, III (N.D. Miss.; Aberdeen)
Mass Torts Committee: Adam Paul of Kirkland & Ellis LLP (Chicago) and David B. Wheeler of Moore & Van Allen, PLLC (Charleston, S.C.)
Professional Compensation Committee: T. Edward Malpass of the Law Offices of T. Edward Malpass (Newport Beach, Calif.) and Thomas A. Morrow of AlixPartners LLP (Southfield, Mich.)           
Public Companies and Claims Trading Committee: H. Slayton Dabney, Jr. of King & Spalding LLP (New York) and Andrea J. Pincus of Reed Smith LLP (New York)
Real Estate Committee: Berry D. Spears of Fulbright & Jaworski LLP (Austin, Texas) and John F. Young of Block, Markus & Williams, LLC (Denver)           
Technology and Telecommunication Cases Committee: H. Jason Gold of Wiley Rein LLP (McLean, Va.) and William K. Snyder of CRG Partners (Dallas)
Uniform Commercial Code Committee: Gary A. Norton of Whitfield & Eddy, PLC (Des Moines, Iowa) and Romaine S. Scott III of Haskell Slaughter Young & Rediker, LLC (Birmingham, Ala.)
Unsecured Trade Creditors Committee: Ronald E. Gold of Frost Brown Todd LLC (Cincinnati), Jean R. Robertson of Calfee, Halter & Griswold LLP (Cleveland) and Val Venable of SABIC Innovative Plastics (Huntersville, N.C.)
Young and New Members Committee: Douglas E. Deutsch of Chadbourne & Parke, LLP (New York) and Kathryn Pamenter of Goldberg Kohn Bell Black Rosenbloom & Moritz, Ltd. (Chicago)
You may find additional information and resources regarding ABI’s member committees at http://committees.abiworld.org/.


ABI is the largest multi-disciplinary, nonpartisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. ABI was founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues. The ABI membership includes more than 11,700 attorneys, accountants, bankers, judges, professors, lenders, turnaround specialists and other bankruptcy professionals providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and information. For additional information on ABI, visit www.abiworld.org. For additional conference information, visit http://www.abiworld.org/conferences.html.