Fifteenth Annual Duberstein National Bankruptcy Memorial Moot Court Competition to be Held March 17-19 in New York

Fifteenth Annual Duberstein National Bankruptcy Memorial Moot Court Competition to be Held March 17-19 in New York

Contact: John Hartgen
             (703) 739-0800
             [email protected]



October 3, 2006, Alexandria, Va. — The American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) and St. John’s University School of Law will co-sponsor the 15th Annual Chief Judge Conrad B. Duberstein National Bankruptcy Memorial Moot Court Competition, March 17-19, 2007, in New York.  The event, the nation’s only moot court competition devoted entirely to bankruptcy, is named to honor the memory of Chief Judge Conrad B. Duberstein, a St. John’s University alumnus and a former member of the ABI Board of Directors. More than 50 law schools are again expected to participate. The competition’s preliminary and octo-final rounds will be held on March 17-18, and quarter-final, semi-final and final rounds held on March 19. The preliminary, octo-final, quarter-final and semi-final rounds will be held in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of New York, while the final round will be held in U.S. District Court of the Eastern District of New York.

The competition promotes and recognizes the finest oral written advocacy on a significant problem in bankruptcy practice. Awards will be presented to the winning team, as well as for best written brief and best oral advocate.  The awards banquet will be held at the famous Pier 60, Chelsea Piers. Baylor University School of Law is the defending champion, while past winners include University of Connecticut Law School, Emory University School of Law, University of Miami School of Law, Brooklyn Law School, University of Idaho College of Law, William & Mary Law School, the University of Florida Law School, the University of Alabama School of Law, Mississippi College School of Law, Stetson University College of Law and New York University School of Law.

Judges and prominent bankruptcy practitioners will judge all preliminary rounds and written briefs.  The final round, to be held at the U.S. Courthouse, will be judged by several leading members of the federal judiciary, including Judge Stuart M. Bernstein (Chief Bankruptcy Judge, S.D.N.Y.), Judge Melanie L. Cyganowski (Chief Bankruptcy Judge, E.D.N.Y), Judge Michael J. Melloy (U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit), Judge Marjorie O. Rendell (U.S. Court of Appeals, Third Circuit) and Judge Timothy M. Tymkovitch U.S. Court of Appeals, Tenth Circuit).

State and local bankruptcy bar sections are encouraged to participate by sponsoring law school teams. ABI members, and especially academic members, are encouraged to help sponsor or coach a team.  

Any ABA-accredited law school may enter one or two teams comprised of two or three students each. The entry deadline into the competition is Nov. 27, 2006, and the registration fee per team is $495.  The fee includes continental breakfast and lunch for student participants and coaches on March 17, lunch and reception on March 18 and a Gala Awards Banquet ticket for each student on March 18.  Hotel and travel accommodations are at the school’s expense.  The New York Marriott Financial Center is the host hotel.  For additional information, visit  


ABI is the largest multi-disciplinary, nonpartisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. ABI was founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues. The ABI membership includes more than 11,500 attorneys, accountants, bankers, judges, professors, lenders, turnaround specialists and other bankruptcy professionals, providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and information. For additional information on ABI, visit For additional conference information, visit