New ABI Officers and Directors Elected

New ABI Officers and Directors Elected

Alexandria, Va. — The following members of the American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) were elected to leadership positions as officers and directors:

Robert P. Reynolds of Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC (Tuscaloosa, Ala.) becomes ABI President for a one-year term, succeeding Hon. Barbara J. Houser (N.D. Tex., Dallas), who now assumes the position of Immediate Past President. Hon. Kevin J. Carey (ret.) of Hogan Lovells US LLP (Philadelphia), formerly Vice President – Membership, was named President-Elect and will become President in April 2022. Alane A. Becket of Becket & Lee, LLP (Malvern, Pa.) succeeds Ted Gavin of Gavin/Solmonese LLC (Wilmington, Del.) as Chairman of the Board for a one-year term.

Eve H. Karasik of Levene, Neale, Bender, Yoo & Brill, LLP (Los Angeles) was elected to serve as the first ABI Vice President – Diversity and Inclusion, a new position created by the ABI Board of Directors. Jerry M. Markowitz of Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog (Miami, Fla.) was elected to serve a two-year term succeeding Hon. Kevin J. Carey (ret.) as ABI Vice President-Membership. Stephen Lerner of Squire Patton Boggs (Cincinnati), formerly an at-large member, was selected to serve as Vice President – International. Franklind Davis Lea of Tactical Financial Consulting (Alpharetta, Ga.) was elected as an at-large member of the Executive Committee. Hon. Bruce Harwood (D.N.H.; Concord) (Secretary), Douglas L. Lutz of Frost Brown Todd LLC (Cincinnati) (Vice President – Education) and Hon. Michelle Harner (D. Md.; Baltimore) (VP – Research Grants) were all reappointed to two-year terms.

Seven ABI members were elected to their first terms on the ABI Board of Directors:

  • Hon. John Gregg (W.D. Mich.; Grand Rapids)
  • Ariane Holtschlag of FactorLaw (Chicago)
  • James Irving of Dentons (Louisville, Ky.)
  • Shanti Katona of Polsinelli (Wilmington, Del.)
  • Suzanne Koenig of SAK Management Services, LLC (Riverwoods, Ill.)
  • William Snyder of CR3 Partners (Dallas)
  • Standing Chapter 13 Trustee Nancy Whaley (N.D. Ga.; Atlanta)

There are 60 members on the ABI Board of Directors. The complete list of directors and officers is available at


ABI is the largest multi-disciplinary, nonpartisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. ABI was founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues. The ABI membership includes nearly 10,000 attorneys, accountants, bankers, judges, professors, lenders, turnaround specialists and other bankruptcy professionals, providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and information. For additional information on ABI, visit For additional conference information, visit