New Officers and Board Members Elected at ABIs 24th Annual Spring Meeting

New Officers and Board Members Elected at ABIs 24th Annual Spring Meeting

Contact: John Hartgen             
             (703) 739-0800             
             [email protected]



April 26, 2006, Alexandria, Va. — The following officers and members of the Board of Directors of the American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) were elected to leadership positions at ABI’s Annual Spring Meeting, held April 20-April 23 in Washington, D.C.:

New members of the Executive Committee and new officers: Judge Wesley Steen of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court of the Southern District of Texas (Houston) becomes President for a one-year term, succeeding John Penn of Haynes & Boone LLP (Fort Worth, Texas). Judge Steen is the first sitting judge to serve as ABI President. Reggie Jackson of  Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP (Columbus, Ohio) was named President-Elect, to become President in April 2007. Michael P. Richman of Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw LLP (New York) succeeds Bettina M. Whyte of MBIA Insurance Corporation (Armonk, N.Y.) as Chair of the Board for a one-year term. Robert J. Keach of Bernstein, Shur (Portland, Maine) was named to a two-year term as Vice President-Education, succeeding Neil P. Olack, who will become a bankruptcy judge in Mississippi. James Patrick Shea of Shea & Carlyon, Ltd. (Las Vegas) was named to a one-year term as a Member at Large on the 16-member Executive Committee.

Nine new members were elected to the ABI Board of Directors: Peter J. Antoszyk of Brown Rudnick Berlack Israels LLP (Boston), Rudy J. Cerone of McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC (New Orleans), Norma C. Corio of JP Morgan (New York), Jonathan P. Friedland of Kirkland & Ellis LLP (Chicago), Prof. Margaret Howard of Washington & Lee University Law School (Lexington, Va.), Bruce S. Nathan of Lowenstein Sandler PC (New York), Claire Ann Resop of Brennan, Steil & Basting, SC (Madison, Wis.), Tracy C. Sandler of Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Toronto) and Ian G. Williams of Geldards LLP (Nottingham, England).

Directors reappointed for another three-year term are: Mitchell E. Drucker of CIT Group Inc. (New York), Judge James D. Gregg, U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Michigan (Grand Rapids), Robert J. Keach of Bernstein, Shur (Portland, Maine), George M. Kelakos of Kelakos Advisors LLC (Greenwich, Conn.), James T. Markus of Block Markus Williams, LLC (Denver), Patricia A. Redmond of Stearns, Weaver et al. PA (Miami), Judge Steven W. Rhodes of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of Michigan (Detroit), Robert J. Rosenberg of Latham & Watkins LLP (New York), Joseph Samet of Baker & McKenzie (New York), Anthony H.N. Schnelling of Bridge Associates LLC (New York), James Patrick Shea of Shea & Carlyon, Ltd. (Las Vegas), Lynnette Warman of Jenkens & Gilchrist, PC (Dallas) and Judge Eugene R. Wedoff of U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Illinois (Chicago). The ABI Board of Directors has 60 members.

The complete list of directors and officers is available at


ABI is the largest multi-disciplinary, nonpartisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. ABI was founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues. The ABI membership includes more than 11,000 attorneys, accountants, bankers, judges, professors, lenders, turnaround specialists and other bankruptcy professionals providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and information. For additional information on ABI, visit For additional conference information, visit