New Officers and Directors Elected During ABIs 31st Annual Spring Meeting

New Officers and Directors Elected During ABIs 31st Annual Spring Meeting

Alexandria, Va. — The following members of the American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) were elected to leadership positions as officers and directors during ABI’s 31st Annual Spring Meeting, held April 18-21 in National Harbor, Md.: Patricia A. Redmond of Stearns, Weaver, Miller, Weissler, Ahadeff & Sitterson, PA (Miami) becomes ABI President for a one-year term, succeeding James T. Markus of Markus Williams Young & Zimmerman LLC (Denver), who now assumes the position of Immediate-Past President. Brian L. Shaw of Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin LLC (Chicago), formerly ABI Vice President-Membership, was named President-Elect to become President in April 2014. Geoffrey L. Berman of Development Specialists, Inc. (Los Angeles) succeeds Melissa Kibler Knoll of Mesirow Financial Consulting, LLC (Chicago) as Chairman of the Board for a one-year term.

R. Scott Williams of Haskell Slaughter Young & Rediker LLC (Birmingham, Ala.) was named to a two-year term as ABI Vice President-Membership, succeeding Brian L. Shaw. Newly named to ABI’s 17-member Executive Committee is Nancy B. Rapoport, the Gordon Silver Professor of Law at the William S. Boyd School of Law at the University of Nevada-Las Vegas; she was elected to serve a two-year term as Vice President-Research Grants, succeeding Prof. Margaret Howard of the Washington & Lee Law School (Lexington, Va.), who will remain on the ABI Board. Ron Silverman of Bingham McCutchen LLP (New York) was elected Vice President- International Affairs to succeed Ian Williams of SGH Martineau LLP (London), who will remain on the ABI Board. Deborah Thorne of Barnes & Thornberg LLP (Chicago) was elected to the Executive Committee as an At-Large member.

Ten new members were elected to the ABI Board of Directors: Bankruptcy Judge Mary Grace Diehl (N.D. Ga.; Atlanta), Lisa G. Beckerman of Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP (New York), Tinamarie Feil of BMC Group (New York), David R. Kuney of Sidley Austin LLP (Washington, D.C.), Mark M. Maloney of King & Spalding LLP (Atlanta), Thomas A. Morrow of AlixPartners LLP (Southfield, Mich.), Damian S. Schaible of Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP (New York), Mark G. Stingley of Bryan Cave LLP (Kansas City, Mo.), Annerose Tashiro of Schultze & Braun GmbH (Achern, Germany) and Ralph S. Tuliano of Mesirow Financial Consulting, LLC (New York).

There are 60 members of the ABI Board of Directors. The complete list of directors and officers is available at


ABI is the largest multi-disciplinary, nonpartisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. ABI was founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues. The ABI membership includes more than 13,000 attorneys, accountants, bankers, judges, professors, lenders, turnaround specialists and other bankruptcy professionals providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and information. For additional information on ABI, visit For additional conference information, visit