Join Today and Benefit Daily from ABI's 35+ Years of Insolvency Expertise.
Join Today!
Help Center

New Officers and Directors Elected During ABI's 34th Annual Spring Meeting

Alexandria, Va. — The following members of the American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) were elected to leadership positions as officers and directors during ABI’s 34th Annual Spring Meeting, held April 14-17 in Washington, D.C.:


Jeffrey N. Pomerantz of Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones LLP (Los Angeles) becomes ABI President for a one-year term, succeeding James Patrick Shea of Armstrong Teasdale LLP (Las Vegas), who now assumes the position of Immediate Past President. Retired Bankruptcy Judge Eugene Wedoff (Chicago), formerly an at-large member of ABI’s Executive Committee, was named President-Elect and will become President in April 2017. Brian L. Shaw of Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin LLC (Chicago) succeeds Patricia A. Redmond of Stearns, Weaver, Miller, Weissler, Ahadeff & Sitterson, PA (Miami) as Chairman of the Board for a one-year term.


Bankruptcy Judge Barbara J. Houser

(N.D. Texas; Dallas) was named to a two-year term as ABI Vice President-Research Grants. Michael L. Bernstein of Arnold & Porter (Washington, D.C.) was elected to serve as Treasurer, succeeding John Tittle, Jr. of Tittle Advisory Group, Inc. (Irving, Texas). Newly named to ABI’s 17-member Executive Committee are Jay M. Goffman of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP (New York) and Mark G. Stingley of Bryan Cave (Kansas City, Mo.). 


Eight ABI members were elected to their first term on the ABI Board of Directors:


  • Eric W. Anderson of Parker, Hudson, Rainer & Dobbs LLP (Atlanta)
  • Jessica C.K. Boelter of Sidley Austin LLP (Chicago)
  • Chief Bankruptcy Judge Daniel P. Collins (D. Ariz.; Phoenix)
  • Lisa J. Donahue of AlixPartners LLP (New York)
  • Bankruptcy Judge Robert D. Drain (S.D.N.Y.; White Plains)
  • Soneet R. Kapila of KapilaMukamal, LLP (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)
  • Deirdre A. McGuinness of Epiq Systems, Inc. (New York)
  • Christopher A. Ward of Polsinelli (Wilmington, Del.)


There are 60 members on the ABI Board of Directors. The complete list of directors and officers is available at



ABI is the largest multi-disciplinary, nonpartisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. ABI was founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues. The ABI membership includes more than 12,000 attorneys, accountants, bankers, judges, professors, lenders, turnaround specialists and other bankruptcy professionals, providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and information. For additional information on ABI, visit For additional conference information, visit