Join Today and Benefit Daily from ABI's 35+ Years of Insolvency Expertise.
Join Today!
Help Center

Profs. Baird and Morrison Win Second Annual Judge Wesley Steen Law Review Writing Prize for Article on Dodd-Frank

March 28, 2012, Alexandria, Va. — Profs. Douglas G. Baird of the University of Chicago Law School (Chicago) and Edward R. Morrison of Columbia Law School (New York) won the American Bankruptcy Institute’s (ABI) Second Annual Judge Wesley Steen Law Review Writing Prize for their lead article “Dodd-Frank for Bankruptcy Lawyers,” which appeared in the Winter Edition of the ABI Law Review. Profs. Baird and Morrison were awarded $5,000 for their work. The prize was established last year in honor of Bankruptcy Judge Wesley Steen, who retired from the bench in January 2011 after 17 years of distinguished service in both the Southern District of Texas and the Middle District of Louisiana. The only judge to ever serve as ABI President (2006-07), he was also a member of the ABI Law Review advisory board. Profs. Baird and Morrison are both prolific scholars in the areas of bankruptcy law, corporate reorganization and contracts. Prof. Baird has served as the Harry A. Bigelow Distinguished Service Professor of Law at the University of Chicago Law School since 1996. Prof. Morrison is the Harvey R. Miller Prof. of Law & Economics and the co-director of Richman Center for Business Law & Public Policy at Columbia Law School, where he has been a member of the faculty since 2009. In addition to the cash award, a plaque will be presented to each author on April 21 at ABI's Annual Spring Meeting in Washington, D.C. Prof. David Gray Carlson of the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law (New York) won the Inaugural Judge Wes Steen ABI Law Review Writing Prize last year for his lead article, "The Role of Valuation in Federal Bankruptcy Exemption Process: The Supreme Court Reads Schedule C," which appeared in the 2010 Winter edition of the ABI Law Review.