Summer Shaw of Doling Shaw & Hanover APC Selected as Emerging Leader in ABI's "40 Under 40" Initiative

Summer Shaw of Doling Shaw & Hanover APC Selected as Emerging Leader in ABI's "40 Under 40" Initiative

Alexandria, Va. ABI announces that Summer Shaw of Doling Shaw & Hanover APC (Palm Desert, Calif.) has been selected as an emerging leader in ABI’s inaugural “40 Under 40” initiative. The initiative was launched this year to identify 40 of the top insolvency industry professionals under the age of 40, who will be formally recognized at ABI’s 2017 Winter Leadership Conference, taking place Nov. 30-Dec. 2 at the La Quinta Resort & Club in Palm Springs, Calif.

Shaw is a founding member of Doling Shaw & Hanover APC, where she represents creditors and debtors in bankruptcy and insolvency matters. She serves as the president of the Inland Empire Bankruptcy Forum (IEBF), a division of the California Bankruptcy Forum, and she was presented with the 2016 Honor Roll of Pro Bono Volunteers by Hon. Mark D. Houle of the Central District of California. Shaw is also a professor of bankruptcy law at the California Desert Trial Academy (CDTA). She is admitted to practice in all state and federal courts in California, including the Supreme Court of California. In addition, Shaw is admitted to practice before the U.S. Ninth and Tenth Circuit Courts of Appeals.

“Each of these 40 young men and women are distinguished by their extraordinary professional accomplishments and leadership in their communities,” said ABI Executive Director Samuel J. Gerdano.

The “40 Under 40” winners are distinguished by professional achievements and service and were selected by a group of experienced professionals from ABI’s current leadership.

Nominations were submitted via the initiative’s website, through which professionals nominated themselves or a colleague. Membership in ABI was not required. Nearly 300 individuals started the rigorous applications process, and 195 entries were ultimately submitted for judging. Those selected were chosen from both large and small firms from every region of the country, and represent diverse practice areas such as law, finance, accounting, consulting, academia, government and more. Members of the selection committee were Patricia Redmond (chair) of Stearns, Weaver, Miller, Weissler, Alhadeff & Sitterson, P.A. (Miami), Nina Parker of Parker and Associates (Winchester, Mass.), Soneet Kapila of KapilaMukamal, LLP (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), Katie Coleman of Hughes Hubbard & Reed LLP (New York), Derek Abbott of Morris Nichols Arsht & Tunnell (Wilmington, Del.), Eve Karasik of Levene, Neale, Bender, Yoo & Brill (Los Angeles), Doug Lutz Frost Brown Todd LLC (Cincinnati), Judge Deborah L. Thorne (N.D. Ill.; Chicago) of Illinois, Risa Wolf-Smith of Holland & Hart LLP (Denver) and ABI President Hon. Gene Wedoff (ret.).

Click here to view the full list of “40 Under 40” honorees.


ABI is the largest multi-disciplinary, nonpartisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. ABI was founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues. The ABI membership includes more than 12,000 attorneys, accountants, bankers, judges, professors, lenders, turnaround specialists and other bankruptcy professionals, providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and information. For additional information on ABI, visit For additional conference information, visit