ABI Announces 2023 "40 Under 40" Emerging Leaders in Insolvency Practice

ABI Announces 2023 "40 Under 40" Emerging Leaders in Insolvency Practice

Alexandria, Va. ABI announces the honorees of its 2023 “40 Under 40” award program, which identifies 40 top industry professionals under age 40. The honorees will be recognized at a special ceremony on Dec. 1 during ABI’s 2023 Winter Leadership Conference at the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess in Scottsdale, Ariz. ABI’s 2023 “40 Under 40” honorees are:

·      Candace Arthur of Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP (New York)

·      Jessica Bagdanov of BG Law LLP (Woodland Hills, Calif.)

·      James Block of Krautkramer & Block LLC (Wausau, Wis.)

·      Brian Bolin of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP (New York)

·      Rachel Chesley of FTI Consulting, Inc. (New York)

·      Megan Clontz of Spencer Fane LLP (Plano, Texas)

·      Daniel Desatnik of Proskauer Rose LLP (New York)

·      Kathleen DiSanto of Bush Ross, P.A. (Tampa, Fla.)

·      Elizabeth Downing of Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom LLP (Boston)

·      Michael Dunn of Dunn Law PA (Miami)

·      Joseph Esmont of BakerHostetler (Cleveland)

·      Matthew Fagen of Kirkland & Ellis LLP (New York)

·      Michael Fishel of King & Spalding (Houston)

·      David Gaffey of Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, LLP (Falls Church, Va.)

·      Amir Gamliel of Perkins Coie LLP (Los Angeles)

·      Heather Giannino of Heavner, Beyers & Mihlar, LLC (Decatur, Ill.)

·      Charvi Gupta of Getzler Henrich & Associates (New York)

·      Hayley Harrison of Bast Amron (Miami)

·      Patrick Hoban of AlixPartners, LLP (New York)

·      Katherine Hopkins of Kelly Hart & Hallman LLP (Fort Worth, Texas)

·      Ryan Kelley of Pierce Atwood LLP (Portland, Maine)

·      Samuel Kidder of KTBS Law LLP (Los Angeles)

·      Kathryn Lattner of Stout Risius Ross, LLC (Chicago)

·      Tyler Layne of Holland & Knight (Nashville, Tenn.)

·      Joshua Macey of the University of Chicago (Chicago)

·      Sonette Magnus of Thompson Coburn LLP (St. Louis)

·      Brittany Michael of Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones (Minneapolis)

·      Adine Momoh of the U.S. Attorney's Office (Minneapolis)

·      Arsalan Muhammad of Haynes and Boone, LLP (Houston)

·      Ari Newman of Greenberg Traurig, LLP (Miami)

·      Dai Trang Liz Nguyen of the Law Office of Mark J. Giunta (Phoenix)

·      Rachel Nicholson of Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP (Toronto)

·      Gabriel Olivera of O'Melveny & Myers LLP (New York)

·      Adam Prescott of Bernstein Shur Sawyer & Nelson, PA (Portland, Maine)

·      Ciara Rogers of Waldrep Wall Babcock & Bailey, PLLC (Raleigh, N.C.)

·      Amalia Sax-Bolder of Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck LLP (Denver)

·      David Schiff of Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP (New York)

·      Amanda Steele of Richards, Layton & Finger, P.A. (Wilmington, Del.)

·      Meredith Theisen of Rubin & Levin, P.C. (Indianapolis)

·     Iana Vladimirova of Stafford Rosenbaum LLP (Madison, Wis.)

“The members of the 2023 class are an inspiration for the commitment, creativity and ingenuity that they demonstrate in both their careers and communities,” said ABI Executive Director Amy Quackenboss. “This diverse collection of honorees is comprised of future leaders that will drive ABI and the insolvency community forward.”

Nominations were submitted earlier this year by the candidates themselves or by colleagues via the award program’s website, http://abi40under40.org. More than 200 candidates, each with outstanding records of professional achievement and community leadership, were evaluated by members of a 20-person steering committee. Most of the applicants were partners, directors or managing directors at their firms.

This year’s Steering Committee, chaired by Melissa Root of Jenner & Block LLP (Chicago), included Vincent Alexander of Shutts & Bowen LLP (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), Michelle Bass of Wolfson Bolton PLLC (Troy, Mich.), Jason Brookner of Gray Reed & McGraw LLP (Dallas), José Carles of CARLES | CUESTA (Madrid, Spain), Prof. Laura Coordes of Arizona State University (Phoenix), Rosa J. Evergreen of Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP (Washington, D.C.), Scott Gautier of Faegre Baker Daniels (Los Angeles), John Loughnane of White and Williams LLP, Boston), Jennifer Lyday of Waldrep Wall Babcock & Bailey, PLLC (Winston-Salem, N.C.), Ryan Maupin of Deloitte Turnaround and Restructuring (New York), Kathryn McGlynn of AlixPartners LLP (New York), Erin McKeighan of Alvarez & Marsal (Chicago), Krystal Mikkilineni of Dentons Bingham Greenebaum (Des Moines, Iowa), Edward Neiger of ASK LLP (New York), Tara Schellhorn of Riker, Danzig, Scherer, Hyland & Perretti LLP (Morristown, N.J.), Hon. Elizabeth Gunn of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Columbia (Washington, D.C.), Glenn Siegel of Morgan Lewis & Bockius LLP (New York), Hon. Sage Sigler of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Georgia (Atlanta) and Nicholas Zluticky of Stinson LLP (Kansas City, Mo.). Many of the members of this year’s Steering Committee are themselves past ABI “40 under 40” honorees.

Now in its seventh year, the goal of ABI’s “40 under 40” award program is not simply to create a one-time ceremony, but to fully engage those selected as future leaders in the insolvency profession and to build on the program each year. ABI staff have created a year-round promotional campaign in the ABI Journal and at all of its CLE programs in consultation with the Steering Committee.

For more information about ABI’s “40 under 40” award program, visit http://abi40under40.org/.


ABI is the largest multi-disciplinary, nonpartisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. ABI was founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues. The ABI membership includes nearly 10,000 attorneys, accountants, bankers, judges, professors, lenders, turnaround specialists and other bankruptcy professionals, providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and information. For additional information on ABI, visit www.abi.org. For additional conference information, visit http://www.abi.org/calendar-of-events.